Roid Reefs

New to the hobby

Hello everyone,

I am new to the hobby and in the process of planning/putting together a mixed reef tank. Have been interested for years and have been reading a lot in the last 6 months. Trying to do this on a budget but I'm not willing to wait to get what I need. I am located in the New Orleans area and am looking forward to getting into this hobby and doing it with my family.

I was going to start with a 40b for my first tank. I have the tank and stand along with an RO system. Although I saw a used deal on a 72 bowfront, stand, t5 lights, rock, sump, plumbing, heater, and pumps that if the seller doesn't sell it to someone else, I will be getting that at the end of the week (May try to reseal the aquarium just in case as it has been sitting over a year). With MACNA this weekend I was able to get about 75lbs of dry rock (mix of marco and artificial purple of different shapes, not sure of the brand) for an unbeatable price.  so I am slowly getting my equipment together.

Once im done with a  remodel of the house by the middle of next month, I will probably be setting it up and letting it begin to cycle. Plan to buy the live sand from lfs to help with the cycle. So hopefully if all goes well by the end of the year I will have an up and functioning beginning to a mixed reef tank.

• Like 1

Welcome to the hobby @Roid Reefs!:wavingblue: Get ready to become an addict! Lol ;)