The Steve

Adding a second HOB filter?

So right now I am running a 20g reef aquarium with a tetra whisper ex30 HOB filter and no protein skimmer. I also have an empty 10g tank with a aqua tech 20-40 filter. I'm kicking around ideas of what to do with my spare tank. I'm contemplating hanging both filters on my 20g tank for extra filtration or possibly using one to grow micro organisms like a refugium and the other as a filter. I've never done a refugium before so I'm not really sure how that would work. also thought of setting up the 10g as a quarantine tank, but I can't really justify keeping a whole empty tank just for the occasional sick fish- I also don't have a ton of extra money for that either. Any ideas? Would two filters be a good idea? Would 1 filter and 1 refugium work? How would it work and how would it benefit my tank and how do I get it started?

Too small to be an effective fuge. I say put it on the 20g with some media in it. Ether filter floss, bag of carbon, etc...

BTW, Welcome to the site.

Edited by Phatboy

Thanks! So just add the second filter as a backup filtration system? How should this help my tank? I'm thinking it would help lower my nitrates? Would this help keep algae growth down? Also, what would be more effective, another filter or a protein skimmer? Or both? Keep in mind, I have a limited budget and my tank is in my living room so aesthetics must be taken in to account.

If you dont have a HOB skimmer, that would be my next addition. I know Coonassaint has a thread on here selling his current setup. Im pretty sure he had a HOB skimmer. Maybe he is willing to part with it.

Are you having issues with your tank?

How old is this tank?

What is in the tank?

What are your parameters?

Whats your goal for the tank?